We are excited to welcome Serfs (Charlotte, NC) to the Self Aware Records family. Their debut full length album will be our image_originalfirst release of 2016. The band have written one of the best indie/shoegaze/pop albums that I’ve heard in awhile. We knew we would be idiots if we didn’t work with them on the release.

Day Hang, the long awaited debut full-length album by North Carolina’s Serfs, arrives through Self Aware Records on January 29th, 2016. It follows the release of three digital singles and 2013’s “Common Feelings” EP.


Serfs began in 2011 after singer and guitarist, Phil Pucci (also of Melt and Ernie) moved back to Charlotte, following a stint living on the west coast, and moved into a house with other founding members and longtime friends, guitarist David Scanlon and bassist Patrick Doherty. The band set up shop in their basement, writing and recording punk songs together, sometimes until the cops were called.

In early 2013, upon parting ways with their original drummer and in the midst of a series of breakups with his ex-girlfriend, Pucci began to write the songs that would end up on Day Hang. He says this about the album: “The songs are about a feeling of bewilderment when you exit a long-term relationship and are trying to find your footing on your own.” The album was recorded over a weekend at Old House Studio and marks a change in sound for the group, employing an array of effects, introspective melodies, moody textures and psychedelic swirls.

1. Can’t Get Control
2. Slowpoke
3. Tone Death
4. Women of LA
5. Wish Period
6. Genesis Drums
7. Teardrop
8. Arab Street
9. You’ll Never Be Good To Me

We will be premiering songs and announcing preorder details in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *