We’re excited to be working with Totally Slow again on the release of their new EP, “Imperium,” check out the preorder here. This release follows up their 2016 sophomore LP, “Bleed Out,” and their debut 2013 self-titled release.

SO here comes a new 6-song EP, “Imperium.”

1. Inside Voice
2. The Finger
3. Indiscriminate
4. Other People
5. Lust Will Drag You to Hell
6. Prison

This will be a limited pressing of 50 Lime Green cassettes, 50 White cassettes and 100 CDs (available via Bitter Melody Records). Pick up your copy today before the March 16th, 2018 release date.

You know the drill, picking up a preorder helps us to continue operating a small DIY label, along with supporting an amazing band like Totally Slow. In a digital age, now more than ever it’s important to support the things you love. Keep it local, buy from small business before going to the mega-retailers. If you do that, then you really can’t lose.


We’re excited to be working with Naked Naps on their new LP, “Year of the Chump,” check out the different preorder options available. if you are ordering multiple copies or are from outside the U.S., then please email us first so we can get you the best rate on shipping! selfawarerecords@gmail.com

100 on Seafoam Green Vinyl
100 on Orange “Creamsicle” Vinyl
100 on Pink Vinyl

also check out the preorder shirt and CD.

Limited to 300 copies in the first pressing. The release will also be available on CD and digital formats. Vinyl will be shipping a few weeks after the 12/1 release date. Please be patient and understanding while ordering!

1. Toyota Prius The Silent Killer
2. Frank Lloyd Wright Designed the Carport
3. Prisoner’s Dilemma
4. Honda Civic ’88
5. Torn Corners
6. Successful Sitcoms
7. World Heavy Weight Champ, Jack Johnson
8. Single and Ready to Linger
9. All My Exes Live in Text Threads


Naked Naps is an upbeat indie rock duo from Raleigh, NC. Their maturation into a local staple hasn’t sacrificed the qualities in their songwriting that retain the urgency of needing to start a band. While clearly interfacing with the current DIY network, they pull decidedly from Ted Leo, The Thermals, and Mission of Burma, they at times hint at highlights from the playbook of American Football, leaving you wondering why emo ever became a bad word. Naked Naps prove you can put your heart on your sleeve without losing your cool, and give lo-fi a higher mission than easy street cred. (Paul Blest)

Naked Naps’ contemporaries—Speedy Ortiz, Cloud Nothings, Waxahatchee—evoke ’90s indie rock by nodding to grunge or pop-punk. But Naked Naps suggest both Cap’n Jazz’s hyperactive arrangements and K Records’ mix of confidence and simplicity. These songs can seem difficult, but they are ultimately beguiling. More than ever, Naked Naps’ music lives up to its name, with urgent pop that balances intimacy, urgency and innocence. (Bryan Reed ~ Indy Week).


We’re incredibly excited to be bringing the phenomenal new documentary “Don’t Break Down: A Film About Jawbreaker” to C3 Lab (2525 Distribution St) in Charlotte, NC!

 Self Aware Records & Charlotte Film Society Presents: Don’t Break Down: A Film About Jawbreaker Saturday November 11, 2017 – Doors 6:30pm/ Showtime 7:30pm.

$5 for Charlotte Film Society members // $10 for all other guests

Buy tickets here.



amanda-x-2017We are really happy to announce that we are working with Amanda X again on the release of their new album, “Giant.”

Please head to this link to preorder the digital LP: http://bit.ly/2v3iofa

Given today’s political climate we have decided to release the album digitally and donate the proceeds to Women Against Abuse. For more information on the charity please feel free to follow this link. www.womenagainstabuse.org

The official release date is August 18th, 2017. The album will be available on all streaming services. We sincerely appreciate your support and would love to see us make a positive impact for such an important charity.



IMG_6298Bask vinyl is in and it looks marvelous. Really pleased with how it came out and we are now sorting through preorders to get you your record! Thanks, so much for ordering a record and thanks so very much for your patience.

Bask will be hitting the road for a few days to officially celebrate the release of the new album. Catch them in the southeast from 5.17-5.20. Pick up your copy today!


SelfAwareVinylPromo_original presale_package_ad_original

Bask’s new album, Ramble Beyond is officially out today on all digital platforms and on CD. As you can read from the graphic above, the vinyl will be out on May 19th. We are sorry for any confusion, which has been very minimal and why we went with graphics in the first place. If you place an order for the CD, your order will be promptly shipped. If you ordered a CD along with the shirt and vinyl preorders, your package will be shipped around May 19th. I assume you’re starting to see a pattern here. Preorders are still going for the vinyl, so place that order now!!!

If digital is your bag, then go to your favorite digital retailer and check out the album. I would suggest using bandcamp, because more of that goes back to the label and the band. If you’re in Europe then please pick up the record/cd from This Charming Man Records.


bask-picsSelf Aware Records is pleased to announce we are working with Bask on their upcoming album for release in Spring 2017! For exciting updates on tour dates, single releases and more, follow the band on their sites:

twitter: @thebandbask
fb: facebook.com/basknc
IG: @Baskband   #Baskband

We got a little eager and decided we didn’t want to wait until the new year, so here we are! Really excited how this record sounds and how the rest of 2017 is shaping up for our projects. It’s also awesome to have some Self Aware alumni returning to the label. Bask features Scott Middleton of Means Well, a little band we worked with back in 2013.  Super stoked to welcome him back and to be working with such a hardworking and talented band.


mbmsWe’re really excited to welcome MyBrother MySister to the Self Aware family. We are working with the young band on their new EP, “Haze/Thursday.” The effort will be released on 12/16/2016 and we’ll have more information about preorder and song premieres very soon. For the time being just hold your horses, and brace yourself for the awesomeness.

Thanks for the support for 2016, we’ve had another great year.  As you compile your year end lists, please recall that we released EPs by Mineral Girls and Easy Creatures, as well as albums by Serfs and Totally Slow. We’ll be watching, so don’t forget!


planned_parenthood_logo_svgHello there! So for the rest of the year (at least), everything on our bandcamp will be pay what you want, and we will be matching and donating all sales to Planned Parenthood. Things are crazy right now and they’re getting crazier. Don’t be silent and don’t sit still. Don’t wait and see. But please be kind to each other, please support each other, PLEASE stand up for anyone you see being discriminated against. Take the high road and stand your ground, we’ll see you there!

If you would feel more comfortable donating directly to Planned Parenthood, please do that here.


SA036: Mineral Girls "Seven Inches of Release" 7" EP (split release w/ Broken World Media) The new 7″ from Mineral Girls “Seven Inches of Release” is out now! Pick up a copy from our webstore or from Broken World Media. If you work in a record store, and are reading this, then pick up some copies.

These are two of the best songs Mineral Girls have written and the most collaborative I’ve heard the band. It’s been a long and delayed process but I’m super stoked to finally have this out in the world. Pick up a copy, or two, or three!